2022-04-24
17689
33
2400
1 minutes.


Markup on goods in the online store

Markup on goods in the online store dropshipping suppliers aliexpress amazon shopify best beginners apps products ebay wix distributors how to start business vendors stores alibaba compares your prices orders for suppliers create catalog

The term "sales margin" is used not only in the field of Internet business, but also in any other areas directly or indirectly related to trade. As a rule, a markup is the amount that is added to the price of a product before it is put up for sale. What is the reason for this action? Suppose you are in the business of selling certain products that some other firm produces. Before you put a product on sale, you need to buy it from this company. And if you sell products at their original (purchase) price, then your profit will be equal to zero (or even go to the “minus”).

In the case of an online store, the situation is similar. If you sell the products at the purchase price, then you will not be able to cover your overhead costs (pay for the domain with hosting, labor of workers, your own labor, etc. ). There is a term "minimum trade margin". As a rule, this is the amount that must be added to the cost of the products in order to reach self-sufficiency. In other words, the minimum margin will only allow you not to go into the "minus", to stay afloat. To make a profit, it is necessary that the size of the real markup exceed the size of the minimum markup.

A logical question arises - how to calculate the minimum trading margin of an online store? When calculating, many different factors must be taken into account. Below we list the most important of them.

  1. Store setup costs. This includes a verst of the layout, the development of unique software modules, the preparation of the basic part of the content, and primary search engine optimization. As you understand, this factor is the most significant (after all, it is the creation of the store that takes most of the money).
  2. Store support costs. It is not enough to create an online store, you need to constantly maintain it in working condition (repair software modules, modify functionality), monitor the relevance of the information posted here, periodically update it and do much more.
  3. Personnel costs. Very rarely, an online store rests only on the shoulders of its creator. In most cases, you need to attract additional workers, for example, loaders, consultants, content managers, copywriters, etc. And the larger the store, the more employees are required to ensure its smooth operation.
  4. Target audience size. In most cases, the target audience is determined by the region and theme (although the influence of the region for an online store is not so great). The more people who can be interested in your store and buy something in it, the lower the margin you need to make to get the same profit.
  5. Delivery of goods. This expense item is taken into account only when the delivery is free for the buyer (that is, you pay for it by hiring couriers, using postal services, etc. ). The delivery time of the products also matters (the faster, the more expensive).
  6. The number of rejections and returns. Not always the buyer accepts the products and pays for it. In some cases, a person tries to return the product, for example, after discovering flaws, due to a discrepancy between the declared characteristics and real characteristics, etc. The more returns, the more money will be wasted.
  7. Taxes. The total amount of taxes levied on the entrepreneur, for obvious reasons, also affects the value of the trade margin.

A highly simplified scheme for calculating the minimum trade margin usually looks like this - all items of expenditure for an online store are added up and divided by the number of products available. Next, the purchase price of the products is deducted from the resulting value. However, it should be borne in mind that items of expenditure can be one-time and regular. For example, you pay only once for creating a website, but for a domain, hosting, content, search engine optimization - at least several times.

Read also: How to sell on Prom
Filling the site with goods.


 

Copywriter ElbuzGroup


Save a link to this article


Next

Наценка на товары в интернет-магазине

Термин «торговая наценка» используется не только в сфере интернет-бизнеса, но и в любых других сферах, прямо или косвенно связанных с торговлей. Как правило, под торговой наценкой подразумевают сумму, которую добавляют к цене товара перед тем, как выставить его на продажу. Чем же обусловлено данное действие? Предположим, вы занимаетесь продажей определенных товаров, которые производит какая-то другая фирма. Перед тем, как выставить товар на продажу, его нужно купить у этой фирмы. И если вы будете продавать продукцию по ее изначальной (закупочной) цене, то ваша прибыль будет равна нулю (или даже уйдет в «минус»).

В случае с интернет-магазином ситуация является аналогичной. Если реализовывать товар по закупочной цене, то вы не сможете покрыть свои накладные расходы (оплатить домен с хостингом, труд рабочих, собственный труд и т.д.). Существует термин «минимальная торговая наценка». Как правило, это сумма, которую необходимо добавить к стоимости товара для того, чтобы выйти на самоокупаемость. Другими словами, минимальная наценка позволит вам лишь не уйти в «минус», держаться на плаву. Для получения прибыли нужно, чтобы размер реальной наценки превышал размер минимальной наценки.

Возникает логичный вопрос – как же рассчитать минимальную торговую наценку интернет-магазина? При расчете следует учитывать множество разных факторов. Ниже мы перечислим самые основные из них.

  1. Затраты на создание магазина. Сюда можно отнести версту макета, разработку уникальных программных модулей, подготовку базовой части контента, первичную поисковую оптимизацию. Как вы понимаете, данный фактор является самым значимым (ведь именно на создание магазина уходит большая часть денег).
  2. Затраты на поддержку магазина. Мало создать интернет-магазин, нужно постоянно поддерживать его в рабочем состоянии (чинить программные модули, дорабатывать функционал), следить за актуальностью размещаемой здесь информации, периодически обновлять ее и делать много чего еще.
  3. Затраты на персонал. Очень редко интернет-магазин держится лишь на плечах его создателя. В большинстве случаев нужно привлекать дополнительных работников, к примеру, грузчиков, консультантов, контент-менеджеров, копирайтеров и т.д. И чем крупнее магазин, тем больше сотрудников требуется для обеспечения его бесперебойной работы.
  4. Размер целевой аудитории. В большинстве случаев целевая аудитория определяется регионом и тематикой (хотя влияние региона для интернет-магазина не столь велико). Чем большее количество людей может заинтересоваться вашим магазином и что-то в нем купить, тем меньшую наценку нужно сделать для получения одной и той же прибыли.
  5. Доставка товара. Данная статья расходов учитывается только тогда, когда доставка является  бесплатной для покупателя (то есть за нее платите вы, нанимая курьеров, пользуясь услугами почтовых служб и т.д.). Также имеет значение срок доставки товара (чем быстрее, тем дороже).
  6. Количество отказов и возвратов. Далеко не всегда покупатель принимает товар и расплачивается за него. В некоторых случаях человек пытается вернуть товар, к примеру, после обнаружения недостатков, из-за несоответствия заявленных характеристик характеристикам реальным и т.д. Чем больше будет возвратов, тем больше денег будет потрачено впустую.
  7. Налоги. Общая сумма взимаемых с предпринимателя налогов, по понятным причинам, также влияет на величину торговой наценки.

Сильно упрощенная схема расчета минимальной торговой наценки обычно выглядит следующим образом – все статьи расходов интернет-магазина складываются и делятся на количество имеющихся товаров. Далее из полученной стоимости вычитается закупочная цена товара. Однако стоит учитывать, что статьи расходов могут быть единовременными и регулярными. К примеру, за создание сайта вы платите только один раз, а за домен, хостинг, контент, поисковую оптимизацию – как минимум несколько раз.


Далее